Two FSAE teams receive vehicle development grants


Established in 2004, this grant provides funding to one or more Formula SAE® teams to assist with the development of their vehicles. This grant is given in honor of William R. “Bill” Adam’s contribution to FSAE and his lifelong dedication to mentoring young engineers.

Wade Gyllenhaal is the team captain of the Formula SAE team at ASU. Under his leadership, team membership has increased to nearly 25 members, up from an average of around five members in the past several years. He is also president of the SAE International chapter at ASU, which has grown to include over 100 student engineers. Mr. Gyllenhaal is pursuing a degree in mechanical engineering.

Justin Tussey is the founder and president of Osprey Racing, UNF’s first SAE International Collegiate Chapter. Additionally, he was part of a four person senior design team which designed and manufactured the suspension, chassis and wheel package for the school’s first Formula SAE racecar. Osprey Racing is now a flourishing engineering club with over 20 members. Mr. Tussey will graduate in 2012 with a degree in mechanical engineering.

SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. SAE International’s core competencies are life-long learning and voluntary consensus standards development. SAE International’s charitable arm is the SAE Foundation, which supports many programs, including A World In Motion® and the Collegiate Design Series.